Alberta Innovates implemented the Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit (AbSPORU) in collaboration with the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) in 2013 with the aim to improve Alberta’s health research ecosystem. Alberta Innovates is the provincial lead for AbSPORU and have a vested interest in our success.

AbSPORU Executive Committee

AbSPORU’s Executive Committee members represent universities, funders, government bodies and patients, who collectively define and implement the mission, vision and values of AbSPORU.


  • Provide leadership and advice on priority areas for Alberta healthcare and the best strategies and mechanisms to improve health outcomes and healthcare for Albertans
  • Promote patient-oriented research and support the patient voice in the governance of AbSPORU.
  • Proactively support AbSPORU’s development, implementation and sustainability by attracting resources and working with partners to ensure collective achievement of the goals of AbSPORU and their partners.
  • Monitor AbSPORU performance, governance developments, emerging best practices and the effectiveness of AbSPORU.
  • Make recommendations for AbSPORU succession and sustainability planning.

AbSPORU Advisory Committee

AbSPORU’s Advisory Committee is tasked with providing general, non-binding advice, guidance and recommendations to the Executive Committee. It is comprised of patients, the equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI), sex and gender-based analysis (SGBA), and health equity champions, and representatives of AbSPORU funders, academic institutions and health policy decision-making bodies.

AbSPORU Management Committee

AbSPORU’s Management Committee oversees the strategic direction and operations of AbSPORU. It includes:

  • AbSPORU Executive Director
  • AbSPORU Scientific Director
  • AbSPORU Leads
  • AbSPORU Associate Directors
  • Alberta Innovates Vice President, Health (NPI)