Implementation Science Collaborative

The Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit (AbSPORU) formally launched its flagship learning health system initiative in June. The initiative, called The Implementation Science Collaborative, is a mechanism to integrate health system, academic, and AbSPORU expertise to facilitate effective spread, scale and sustainment of health innovations. This initiative brings together multiple health-system stakeholders and IS scholars who contribute through three groups:

●      Steering Committee – local healthcare leaders, academic and health system partners who share local knowledge of widespread implementation barriers in Alberta.

●      Scientific Advisory Board  – International implementation science experts who examine the practical barriers identified by the Steering Committee and advise on implementation research designs and measures to embed into innovation projects.

●      Working Group  – AbSPORU staff, Strategic Clinical Networks™ and health system researchers who find projects well suited for embedding implementation questions addressing the challenges identified by the Steering Committee. The Working Group also collects, synthesizes and shares implementation research results with Alberta’s implementation communities.

By coordinating the expertise in these groups, AbSPORU is leveraging Provincial assets to advance Alberta’s learning health system and strengthen implementation capacity across the province.

Subscribe to stay connected with our research and get the latest news from AbSPORU


University of Calgary Foothills Campus
3330 Hospital Dr NW
Calgary, AB T2N 4N1


College Plaza
1702, 8215 112 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6G 2C8

Land Acknowledgment

The Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit operates on and acknowledges the lands that are the traditional and ancestral territory of many peoples, presently subject to Treaties 6, 7, and 8. Namely: the Blackfoot Confederacy – Kainai, Piikani, and Siksika – the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, Stoney Nakoda, and the Tsuu T’ina Nation and the Métis People of Alberta. This includes the Métis Settlements and the Métis Nation of Alberta. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations. We make this acknowledgment as a reaffirmation of our shared commitment towards reconciliation, and as part of AbSPORU’s mandate towards fostering health system transformation.