Integrated Supportive Care Initiative – Creating “One: CarePath” to integrate supportive care for patients with complex chronic care needs

Speaker: Dr. Sara Davison

Description: Primary care physicians, specialists, and patients often do not have the right supports and tools at their fingertips to optimize the approach to chronic, complex care. Patients with advanced stage diseases have high rates of hospitalization and aggressive use of treatments, often with limited benefit and insufficient input from patients, presenting significant challenges to our healthcare system and community. Patient needs and wishes are not always taken into account, and even if they are, physicians often lack the support to effectively communicate and coordinate the care that these patients have expressed they want outside the walls of the clinic. Our project, “One: CarePath” is about creating a single, integrated supportive care path for patients living with advanced-stage disease(s) to live well on their terms, until they die. In collaboration with primary care physicians, specialists and patients, we are looking to find ways to improve patient outcomes and optimize system performance by a very integrated, multi-level, demand-driven and person-centered strategy designed to address complex and costly health needs for these vulnerable patients. In this presentation, the speaker highlights how patient-oriented research is being used in Alberta to change the landscape of care delivery. The presentation will show how engagement of patients and clinicians and cross-collaborations with multiple stakeholders from the beginning of the research will facilitate the translation of knowledge/evidence into real world changes that will improve health outcomes and the healthcare system.

*Recording form the AbSPORU Virtual Institute 2020

Stay connected with AbSPORU and our research by signing up for our emails.


University of Calgary Foothills Campus
3330 Hospital Dr NW
Calgary, AB T2N 4N1


College Plaza
1702, 8215 112 St NW
Edmonton, AB T6G 2C8

Land Acknowledgment

The Alberta SPOR SUPPORT Unit operates on and acknowledges the lands that are the traditional and ancestral territory of many peoples, presently subject to Treaties 6, 7, and 8. Namely: the Blackfoot Confederacy – Kainai, Piikani, and Siksika – the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Nakota Sioux, Stoney Nakoda, and the Tsuu T’ina Nation and the Métis People of Alberta. This includes the Métis Settlements and the Métis Nation of Alberta. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit who have lived in and cared for these lands for generations. We make this acknowledgment as a reaffirmation of our shared commitment towards reconciliation, and as part of AbSPORU’s mandate towards fostering health system transformation.